Why travel…

Today you get a break from my thoughts, because I want to share a post from one of my favourite travel blogs http://www.ytravelblog.com/ and Facebook pages http://www.facebook.com/yTravelBlog. It is a photo story that will touch your soul, it will make you smile and maybe even shed some tears.

Children often teach us, rather than the other way around, and this is a perfect example of what travel can do for us, demonstrated by the meeting of two children from very different cultures.

Savannah meets Alida

The pictures in this post say it so well, but the words from Caz, the mother of one of the girls, really capture the heart….and the quote from writer Mem Fox should be shared with every child and every non-traveler you know, to encourage them to travel.

Thanks to Caz of ytravel for what is probably my favourite blog post of 2012. See the post and many more photos at: http://www.ytravelblog.com/vanuatu-village-savannah-alida/

In the last 20 years I have been blessed to travel to many places and meet many amazing people, and now to live in place and culture so different from the one I grew up in. Life here in Egypt is not always easy, and I have learned more from people and their different-but-sameness than any university could ever teach.

I share Caz’s dream. As the old song goes “I’d like to teach the world to sing in perfect harmony…” Even when the world conspires to frustrate that dream, and when some of the people I meet make it hard to believe, the negative experiences and people are outnumbered 100 to 1 by the good, and by moments like those she has captured in this post. This is what makes me continue to believe a peaceful world is possible, and to work towards bridging the differences between people.

The children in this story will soon be the adults responsible for our world, and what they are learning through travel, I believe will make a difference. I hope some day Caz’s children also get to meet Bata, Mohamed, and the other children here in Egypt who remind me through their acceptance and love, of what really matters.

PS for Australian readers and Aussies now living elsewhere like me….Caz and family have recently been exploring Australia and making me homesick with great blog and Facebook posts. Many Australians have not seen as much of their own country as they have seen of the rest of the world, and even if you have explored your own backyard, with yTravel you can enjoy it through fresh eyes. These posts include some delicious food stops, great beaches and much more.

This entry was posted in tourism, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why travel…

  1. Thank you so much for this Sue. I am so pleased you enjoyed the post. I didn’t think I had done a great job in capturing the moment, so I love hearing this.
    Egypt is high on our list.

Leave a Reply

