calligraphic art

In addition to my own ramblings, I am going to start posting articles about books that relate to my life and surrounding cultural and social issues, so any of you that are interested can share in my ongoing education into this part of the world.

I have long had a passion for Arabic calligraphy, and hope one day to be able to write in Arabic script. I delight in seeing it anywhere, from the walls of buildings in Spain, to the newspapers and book covers here. So today I share an article on a new book that should be at least worth a flip through in your bookstore. It features some amazing recent use of Arabic calligraphy by artists and activists.

The artist using gaffer tape is fascinatng, as is the use of light and movement, seen in the image above.

Article and more images are at http://en.qantara.de/Ancient-Calligraphy-Meets-Politics/16407c16618i0p/index.html

and I highly recommend the qantara website for lively discussion on hot issues in the Arab world, with more depth than you will get in most daily newspaper or tv cover.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

