Happy New (Islamic) Year

Today is the Islamic New Year of 1434 – wishing you all love and prosperity.
Islamic New Year began in the evening of Wednesday, 14 November and ends in the evening of Thursday, 15 November 2012.

So much happening in my life and I am too emotional to write about it at the moment, so I offer for the New Year a quote from Shams Tabrizi, who with Rumi has taught me so much and helped me through Sufi simplicity and clear sightedness to a greater understanding of life and of myself. They also show me that I still have so much to learn and unlearn, before I can walk with humility and strength through the confusions of this world.

“Whatever happens to you, don’t fall in despair. Even if all the doors are closed, a secret path will be there for you that no one knows. You can’t see it yet but so many paradises are at the end of this path. Be grateful! It is easy to thank after obtaining what you want, thank before having what you want.”
Shams Tabrizi

Sharm el Sheikh mosque, full moon

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New (Islamic) Year

  1. Linda says:

    Gorgeous photo Sue! I hope the New Year brings you clarity and a clearer path. x

  2. Ally Pender says:

    Hi Sue,

    I just want you to know that I feel your pain….. and I would try to help you feel better by telling you that I think you are on a spiritual journey…but I can tell you see this in yourself though the reflections you choose to share…. So hang in there . Be strong… I think you know what is going on deep in your mind and soul and I’m sure the sense of peace and joy that you periodically feel living in Egypt will soon come to be a feeling you will be experiencing most of the time . So in the meantime…I just want you to know that we love you and wish you always the very best. Allyxx (Becky and Julia)

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

