2 years in Egypt, 2 incredible years

“A mind that is stretched by a new experience can never go back to its old dimensions.”
Oliver Wendell Holmes

“Travel is more than a seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living”.
Miriam Beard


Two years ago on this date, I arrived in Siwa Oasis to live. I thought I would still be there now, swimming each day at Cleopatra and in the hot springs, but life brought me to live in Sinai to swim in the Red Sea, on the other side of Egypt.

These have been the most beautiful, and the most difficult, the most extraordinarily happy and also the most sad years of my life, not what I anticipated two years ago. I have changed in so many ways, good ways I hope, and I met the great love and deepest joy of my life. Even the hardest times could not take those treasures from my soul and heart.

sunrise on summit of Gebel Musa (Mt Moses), Sinai, and sunset at Fatnas (on the salt lake), Siwa

Thank You to all those who have taught me so much, and were friends to me. And Thank You to family and friends in Australia who continue to give emotional support, even though I am sure you all think I am crazy to be here and continue here. I miss each of you more than you can know.

I loved Egypt through the years before when I came here as a visitor, and now it is truly my heart home.

Some photos from my time in Siwa and Sinai at http://www.facebook.com/MindseyeWritingAndPhotography and
http://www.photoboxgallery.com/MindsEyePhotographyEgypt

Video from Siwa http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cG4wbLdUgwk&feature=youtu.be

Personal photos and videos of my friends and loved ones are not included at these links. If you are a close friend and interested to see those, email me and I can send you links to my private youtube videos and photos.

(photographer unknown)

This entry was posted in Love, Turning Points, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

