Om El-Sayed gets a makeover

My favourite statue in Sharm, the woman on the road that runs from Peace Road up to the cliff top, has been painted. And I am not sure I like it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the slideshow you see her before and after. Om El-Sayed in her raw state had a power and a touch of mystery. There are more daytime photos of her taken before the makeover at https://siwasoul.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/sharmian-her-real-name-revealed/

She now looks like most of the statues in Sharm which I have never liked, they are too kitsch and some seem completely out of place even in Sharm’s strange cultural mix. But as she now looks more like a cartoon character than an emotive symbol, my idea of using her as the main character for a book for children might work better. It should be simple to make an illustration based on her new look. Capturing the more subtle play of light and shadow of her unpainted would have been more difficult, and possibly would have produced a figure too colorless to appeal to anyone, a ghost or shadow figure.

I suspect that in time I will get used to her colored up, as I will walk past her many, many times on my way to swim. But I am glad I was able to see her before the paint, and now really pleased that I took the series of photos that show her from the day she was being installed until now.

This entry was posted in Art, Sharm el Sheikh, Slideshows. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Om El-Sayed gets a makeover

  1. Linda says:

    She was definitely more statesman-like in her unpainted form and more fairytale in her painted form. Maybe a little weathering and time will create a palatable compromise! 😀

  2. Linda says:

    P.S. I thought the birds in the painted version were real! : )

  3. siwasoul1 says:

    and it is funny, looking at these photos again she looks big, but last week I saw her again from base of the hill, first time I have looked back at her from there, and she looks smaller. Next time, I will do an estimate of her height.

Leave a Reply

