A new chapter, in Sharm

I have not posted for a long time. I moved permanently from Nuweiba to Sharm el Sheikh six weeks ago, and had no time or inclination for blogging. As followers of Siwa Soul know, I have been a regular visitor to Sharm and I had many short stays here during the last year and a half since I moved from Siwa to the Red Sea and Sinai. These included many wonderful experiences such as trips to Ras Mohammed and Tiran Island. But as with living anywhere compared to being a visitor, making my life here is proving to be a very different experience.

Sharm el Sheikh, view from the cliff (2)

My work hours so far have been long, but with Eid celebrations this week I have some days off to enjoy some of the things I liked about visiting, especially swimming at Ras Katy. I am living further away from the beach than I would like, too far to walk so I take a minibus there, but initial accommodation will not be forever and I hope in a few months to find a place in Hadaba close to the beach. I walk to work now with a view most of the way of Tiran Island and the sun sparkling on the water, which keeps me positive when other things about Sharm get me down. More on those things in a future post…

At the moment I just hope I continue to have work here. Tourism continues to be slow because of the political situation and events throughout Egypt, so I feel fortunate to have work.

Habibi has settled into her new place now, she misses her garden and does not really like being inside all the time, but has a large window from which she watches the outside world and passing cats and dogs. When I hunt for a new place, one of the requirements will be at least a small balcony so she can have some outside time.

This week being Eid, I am missing Siwa as I have special memories of celebrating my first Eid there. Hope to visit again soon, but for now there is plenty to keep me involved and enjoying life here.

This entry was posted in Red Sea, Sharm el Sheikh. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

